Cuisinart Woodcreek 4 in 1 Pellet Grill Review

Cuisinart Woodcreek 4 in 1 Pellet Grill

$500
7.9

Construction Quality

7.0/10

Temperature Control

8.0/10

Smoke production

7.5/10

Usability

8.5/10

Capacity

8.5/10

Pros

  • A Place to Store Everything
  • Wide Range of Cooking Capabilities
  • Large Capacity
  • Low Price
  • Large Hopper

Cons

  • Difficult Assembly
  • Poor Construction Quality

Specifications

  • 648 square inches of primary cooking space for a total of 862 square inches
  • 200 to 500 degree F. temperature range
  • 22-pound pellet hopper
  • Porcelain coated cast iron grates
  • Powered coated steel and stainless steel construction
  • Multiple inserts for cooking versatility
    • Griddle
    • Charcoal Basket
    • Ceramic briquette sear tray
  • Electronic temperature control system
  • Non-insulated body with single layer lid
  • Bluetooth Connectivity with a proprietary app
  • Two temperature probe ports
  • Firepot ash cleanout
  • Pellet dump
  • Grease drains into bottom mounted tray
  • Total weight of 198 pounds
  • Made in China by Cuisinart

Full Review - Cuisinart Woodcreek 4 in 1 Pellet Grill

The outdoor cooking division of Cuisinart has been busy lately. With a full range of pellet cookers in stores along side their gas grills and griddles, they have a full product line. They have been innovative as well. The Cuisinart Woodcreek tries to do it all. There is a ceramic briquette insert for searing, a griddle for stir-fry and a charcoal insert that makes this a hybrid grill. Best of all, they thought about where to store all those parts. Even the temperature probes can be stored under the lid of the pellet hopper.

It is probably the price that is the most innovative feature however. This large capacity, multifunction pellet grill can be had for as little as $500USD (look for it at Walmart). That is impressive. Of course, a great price comes with it's own cost. This is not an easy grill to assemble, largely because it fits into a relatively small box. Also, it is the best quality pellet grill either. There is certainly a trade off.

Obviously, the design team had fun with this grill. There is a window in both the lid that lets you see the food cooking and one in the pellet hopper so you can watch the pellets. The hopper window is redundant to the low pellet sensor that tells you to refuel. These are not necessary features and since smoke easily clouds gas, not even all the useful. It does, however, look impressive on the showroom floor, which is a what this grill is designed to do.

The Basics

As a pellet grill, this is an okay unit. The primary cooking space is large, but the secondary rack is pretty much useless. I consider the true cooking capacity to be around 650 square inches and not the 862 as advertised. You are not getting a pork butt on that upper rack. Aside from this, the configuration is typical. There is a large plate dividing the cooking space from the firepot, like in most pellet grills. You don't have to worry about flare-ups, but it does keep the maximum temperature to 500 degrees F. These days, that seems low.

As for all the extras? Having a griddle is nice. I doubt many people will opt for the charcoal insert and those that use the sear panel, will probably keep it in place for regular cooking. While this all looks like there is a lot of versatility, my experience is that most people won't use it.

The Bottom Line

Ultimately it is the limitations in the construction that bring this grill down. It isn't built to last. However, at this price, it is hard to argue value here. You get a lot of pellet grill here. And not a bad pellet grill either. There are better, but for the price it is certainly competitive.

2 thoughts on “Cuisinart Woodcreek 4 in 1 Pellet Grill Review

  • June 8, 2020 at 5:21 pm
    Permalink

    Construction Quality

    8.5

    Temperature Control

    8.5

    Smoke production

    4.5

    Usability

    10

    Capacity

    10

    The only down side from using this grill, is the fact that most of the smoke it creates will escape out the back air vent and your unable to control the smoke.

    Reply
  • June 5, 2020 at 9:05 pm
    Permalink

    Construction Quality

    4.5

    Temperature Control

    8

    Smoke production

    6

    Usability

    3

    Capacity

    8

    We purchased this grill on 5/17/20 for my father to use on his birthday. We followed the instructions to the “T”. Plugged it in, waited, then it began to warm. So we did the pre-use recommendations and the grill smoked like it said. Then it never worked again. The display went blank we contacted the “customer service” they agreed to send us a replacement panel…. We got that today, not even close to what is in the defective grill. Now they tell us to bring it back to Walmart, though their initial instructions are to NOT bring it back to the store. Please do NOT purchase this untested, unproven boat anchor. I read the initial Reviews by others and obviously I was mislead. I Never owned a pellet grill, my father wanted one, I did research and figured give Cuisinart a chance…. I was wrong. Spend the money on another brand! Oh and the Bluetooth only works to “monitor” temperature NOT adjust.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.